Ask a Rules
My ball is on the green and my partner is much closer to it than I. In an effort to expedite play I have him mark the location of the ball. Is he, the person who marked the ball, required to replace it when the time comes?
The following Rules apply:
Rule 20-1: A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player.
Rule 20-3a: A ball to be placed under the Rules must be placed by the player or his partner. If a ball is to be replaced, the player, his partner or the person who lifted or moved it must place it on the spot from which it was lifted or moved. If the ball is placed or replaced by any other person and the error is not corrected as provided in Rule 20-6, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.
So, to answer your question, you (the player), or your partner, or the person you authorized to lift it can replace it. Any of the three.
How do you determine a person’s handicap, if fewer than five scores are posted in the ghin system? Would that person be eligible to play in tournaments?
To obtain a USGA recognized handicap you must have at least the five scores. However, when entering scores in the GHIN computer a "Trend" handicap is generated with fewer scores. This is just an estimate of what the handicap will be and would not be a legitimate handicap for tournament purposes. In the MSGA weekly tournaments, that person could play but would have to play at scratch until a certified USGA/GHIN handicap is established.
I hit a long drive into a tree and when I got up to the tree, the ball was laying on the ground split into two halves. What is the proper way to proceed?
The last paragraph of Rule 5-3 - Ball Unfit for Play states: " If a ball breaks into pieces as a result of a stroke, the stroke is canceled and the player must play a ball without penalty as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was played." So you would go back to the tee, and under Rule 20-5a you are allowed to re-tee a ball.........If you had however played the shot from the fairway, you would be required to drop another ball "as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was played" again without penalty.
What are the options on red and yellow hazards? I have been told recently that red stakes you have 5 options and yellow are the same. please clear up this confusion, I was always taught that red stakes your option is two club lengths no closer to hole and drop.
There are three options if your ball is in a water hazard (Yellow lines & stakes), the player may:
(a) Play the ball as it lies. Or under penalty of one stroke:
(b) Go back and play a ball as nearly as possible to the spot from which the original ball was last played.
(c) Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped.
If your ball is in a lateral water hazard (Red stakes & lines) you have an additional two options.
(d) Drop a ball outside the lateral water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard.
(e) Drop a ball outside the lateral water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.
For all options, you do not drop along the line of flight that the ball entered the hazard. There is no such thing as “Line of Flight” in the Rules of Golf. The ball may be lifted and cleaned when proceeding under options (b) thru (e). These options exist whether your ball is actually in water or not. Your ball is considered in the hazard if any part of it touches the hazard line. This is one of the most abused Rules of Golf and it can sound quite confusing, so if you're not sure, ask your local pro or any MSGA staff member to demonstrate the options out on the course.
Most people hit the ball great on the practice tee, walk 50 yards to the first tee and lose the swing on the way.......which obviously show's the large part mental attitude comes into play because on the practice tee you know that if you hit a bad shot, there is another ball...So..."is there anything to stop you from laying a ball or two near the ball you are playing on the fairway, or tee, so that when you look down to hit it, you see the other ball, and therefore you have that practice tee feeling of security...and do it in a way as not to slow up play or anything like that".
Rule 14-3(a) prohibits using any artificial device or equipment that might assist you in making a stroke or in your play. The definition of equipment states that balls are equipment except the ball that is in play. Therefore what you suggest would be a breach of Rule 14-3 and would result in disqualification.
May yellow or red water hazard stakes be removed if they interfere with your swing?
Yes. Water hazard stakes are movable obstructions and therefore may be removed if they interfere with your lie, line of play, stance or area of intended swing.